List of potential mentors

If you want to become a DSP scholar, but don’t have a mentor in mind yet, you’re in the right place! The list below contains information about professors who are interested in being DSP mentors. If you already have a professor in mind, but they’re not on this list, don’t worry. Regardless of whether a professor is on this list, you can reach out to them via email and let them know you would like to discuss the possibility of doing Discovery Scholars work with them. Decisions about mentoring relationships are made between (potential) mentors and scholars. Once you both agree to join DSP, just let us know!

AFROTC Mentors

  • Col Wendy Woodard

Anthropology Mentors

  • Dr. Mary Alice Scott, mscott2[at]nmsu.edu.
    • The Anthropology Qualitative Research Lab supports applied anthropological research in food studies and medical anthropology. Students working on faculty projects in the lab have the opportunity to learn interviewing techniques, ethnographic research methods, qualitative data analysis, manuscript preparation, and other related skills.

Biology Mentors

  • Dr. William Boecklen, wboeckle[at]nmsu.edu
  • Dr. Donovan Bailey, dbailey[at]nmsu.edu
  • Dr. Jennifer Curtiss, curtij01[at]nmsu.edu
    • The Curtiss lab uses molecular genetics in the fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster to study topics in Developmental Biology as well as Physiology. One of their main areas of interest is eye development and disease.
  • Dr. Elba Serrano, serrano[at]nmsu.edu
  • Dr. Brad Shuster, cshuster[at]nmsu.edu
    • The lab studies basic questions regarding how cells regulate their shape, division, and motility. They study these questions during both development and disease (cancer).

Communication Studies Mentors

  • Dr. Greg Armfield, armfield[at]nmsu.edu
    • The lab studies communication and sports, including media studies, media portrayals, media framing, and athlete interactions. They also study organizational communication and religion, focusing on organizational culture.
  • Dr. Anne Hubbell
  • Dr. Sangwon Lee, swlee[at]nmsu.edu
    • The lab studies the social impacts of digital communication technologies. In particular, they focus on how social media changes the ways in which people learn about, engage with, and form opinions regarding social and political issues.
  • Dr. Eric L. Morgan
  • Dr. Gabriela Morales
    • The lab focuses on addressing health disparities and social determinants of health, intersectionality of health (race, gender, class, socioeconomic status, age, and education), underrepresented narratives (empowerment and dialogue), and health promotion.

Geography Mentors

  • Dr. Christopher Brown

Geological Sciences Mentors

  • Dr. Jeff Amato, amato[at]nmsu.edu
  • Dr. Reed Burgette, burgette[at]nmsu.edu
  • Dr. Brian Hampton, bhampton[at]nmsu.edu
  • Dr. Emily Johnson, erj[at]nmsu.edu
  • Dr. Nancy McMillan, nmcmilla[at]nmsu.edu
  • Dr. Frank Ramos, framose[at]nmsu.edu

Government Mentors 

  • Dr. Neil Harvey, nharvey[at]nmsu.edu

Physics Mentors 

  • Dr. Stefan Zollner, zollner[at]nmsu.edu
  • Dr. Stephen Pate, spate[at]nmsu.edu
    • The lab focuses on the internal structure of protons and neutrons, explored experimentally using beams of protons and neutrinos.

Psychology Mentors 

  • Dr. David Trafimow, dtrafimo[at]nmsu.edu
    • The lab explores philosophical and methodological issues, and social cognition.
  • Dr. Laura Madson, lmadson[at]nmsu.edu
    • The lab studies gender and sexuality, although they are also broadly interested in anything related to social psychology.
  • Dr. Megan Papesh, mpapesh[at]nmsu.edu
    • The lab studies theoretical and real-life questions related to face perception (e.g., why do fake IDs fool people?), visual attention (e.g., how do doctors find cancer in CT scans?), and human memory (e.g., what determines what you remember versus forget?).
  • Dr. James Kroger, jkroger[at]nmsu.edu
    • The lab conducts brain research using EEG. They study how the brain works, and specifically what the underlying brain mechanisms are that permit intelligent thought and reasoning. They are also interested in emotion and attention.
  • Dr. Marlena Fraune, mfraune[at]nmsu.edu
    • The lab studies the psychology behind using technology to improve people’s lives. In particular, they study human interaction with robots. Their work includes cross-cultural research, with studies in the US, Germany, Italy, Portugal, and Japan. They run studies in the lab to learn more about psychology. They also use robots as bake sale hosts or receptionists at restaurants to learn how to improve interaction with them in the real world.